My Internet Routine

8 a.m.- Wake up and alternate between Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

9 a.m. – 2 p.m.- Decide between whether to tweet or not, ultimately end up tweeting.

2 p.m. – 5 p.m.- Vow to do homework, instead distract yourself with Buzzfeed articles.

5 p.m.- 7 p.m.- Work on homework, end up on a Wikipedia article completely unrelated to the assignment.

9 p.m. – 12 a.m.- Binge watch Netflix before bed.

Actually writing down the amount of time I spend using the Internet, whether it’s on my computer or my phone, is a scary thing because it makes me come face to face with the terrifying realization that I wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I didn’t have access to it. Largely, it all seems like a way to distract myself from actually getting anything done. All the time spent on the computer, could be time spent doing my assignments or building relationships. As cliche as that all sounds, it’s very true. People say that technology links us together, but in actuality it isolates us from inter-personal communication.

Although, I say interaction’s overrated. If I don’t get my daily Netflix fix I will probably be very upset. So maybe the internet seems like a large waste of time for people my age, but the appeal of it is the unlimited opportunities. You can watch television, write blogs, read books, etc. all at the click of a button. Without my daily internet routine my life would be very dull.

Leave a Reply

